The Way of Colour

By Beachcomber149

Bleached

High of 20C. Started cloudy but cleared to blue sky, then clouded over again becoming showery.

All quiet again on the walk today when Maeve the Deerhound and I headed off after lunch. Bridle path still ok for walking, with some of the long grasses having been trampled down. Could clearly hear the sea on the rocks as we approached the shore.

I noticed one of the fishing boats was out as we approached the huts along the beach, and the lady and the boy I see often at the Fishermen's huts were both watching it carefully through binoculars as it approached the channel through the rocks. The tide was higher and the sea quite active today. Quite a surge coming onto the rocks. I didn't disturb them in case they were watching anxiously. I did keep a look out myself as I was pottering around looking for blips, and I am glad to say the boat came right into the shallows and moored without incident.

Near the big creel rack at the back of the beach I came across this sea and sun bleached formerly blue plastic barrel. I liked the shapes made by the deep rough cut :-)

When we left the huts and started along the small private road that runs in front of the cottages we met the couple that has the house nearest the huts. We have seen them a few times since Spring and the man likes to say hello to Maeve. Today we stopped and had a good long chat, mostly about the West coast and places that we like to go. Interesting and enjoyable.

Just before Maeve and I reached home the rain came on but we made it before we got wet. There have been a few heavy short downpours since.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.