The Poss

By PossMan

Salmon Jumping

Spent a short time at Shin Falls on the river of the same name. The visitor centre used to be a branch of Harrods with an over lifesize representation of Al Fayad which is still there. I seem to remember he sold Harrods but perhaps he kept on this property. I didn't notice any Harrods branding but I wasn't really looking out for any - more interested in the loos. Quite a lot of water going over the falls and I heard someone say they were releasing water from the dam up river. The salmon were certainly having to work hard. Quite a lot of visitors all trying to get a front seat view in what is quite a small viewing area. Not sure what the best technique is (apart from lots of patience) - I eventually moved up to a longer focus and then point it with finger poised on the trigger waiting for one to jump into view. Trouble is you then get people yelling "there!!" (or mostly "ecco"!! today) so you know one has jumped but not where you want it. And I tried prefocussing in manual on likely spots. As it happens the best one was one of my early shots with just a short zoom taking in a wider view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.