Shopping Order

A trip down memory lane today. This my Mum's grocery order book for June 3rd 1968. It's come to me in my role as family historian and archivist. Goodness knows why mum still had it when she died in 2009 just a few days short of being 90 (and heaven only knows why I have it still). This was in the days when the corner shop would take your order and deliver it. I well remember as a small boy Harry Ashworth's shop in Ramsbottom's Peel Brow. He had a coffee grinder and a bacon slicer - you could have it sliced to whatever thickness you wanted. I suspect many of todays young people would not know how to add up the cash columns in £sd. The pound column is mostly empty except for grand total of £4-14s-11d on left-hand page. A bit different today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.