Life through the lens...

By ValC

Gentian

Chinese autumn flowering Gentian.........Gentiana sino-ornata.

Found by George Forrest in NW Yunnan in 1904 and in the Lichiang mountain range in 1910.
Seeds were sent to Edinburgh and Ness Botanic Gardens and they first flowered in 1912.
Now this gorgeous deep blue flower, which has lovely striped buds, ( reminding me of exotic little fish. See extra photo. ) flowers every year, in a pot, in my son's garden.Very neglected and hardly ever watered except by the rain.
I have tried to grow it, but with no luck. I think I kill it with kindness.
I'm afraid my photo doesn't do it justice. Just can't get that beautiful deep blue, no matter how many photos I take. 

Friday has come round fast once again.
Hope you all enjoy the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.