Goodbye Gift

Four years ago, when I left the police academy, a group of colleagues gave me this book as a goodbye gift.  I enjoyed it a lot and plan to read it again.  In fact, I like it so much I decided, in turn, to buy it for a colleague who'll be retiring by the end of December.  Of course, I don't know if he'll like it, too, but that's for him to decide.

This is a backblip.  I took a mini-break from here.  Not that I no longer like it here.  I just wanted a few days off.  I took thousands of shots during our summer holiday, and again 230 shots last Saturday, and I just thought that one shot a day, for a change, would be great.  I also wanted the freedom again of deciding when to post.

It's been raining on and off, and that's been a factor, too.  Instead of going out, I've been doing the Creative Writing MOOC, an 8-week course that began 3 weeks ago but which I know I can finish by Sunday, writing assignments included.  I've actually been surprising myself -- short story after short story has been popping up in my head.  I think, though, that I have to conclude that stories are not really my thing.  That said, I'm soaking up all the tips and lectures being given, who knows but I just might make use of them one day.

Autumn breaks aren't bad.  For the first time, I don't mind that the weather isn't so good.  After such a gloriously long summer, complaining is the last thing on my mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.