Forensics

A glorious morning for a ramble in the woods where I found and photographed a dozen species of fungi*. It was only after I'd taken a few shots of this bracket mushroom growing out of a mossy tree trunk that I noticed the tiny femur (barely an inch long) and  the skeletal remnant of, I think,  a small bird's wing beside it, suggesting that a predated meal had been consumed here, probably by a corvid or a raptor.

Back home I went out to pick the last remaining sun-warmed blackberries in the hedgerow only to find that someone else had been there, done that and left the evidence behind.. No doubt a russet-hued individual, name of Fox.

*For those with an interest, my most noteworthy find was Lycoperdon echinatum, or spiny puffball, to be seen in the extra.

Or are they young honey fungus? I think so.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.