KatGirl

By katgirl

My first REAL Camera

Actually my first camera was a Kodak Disc Camera. I was so thrilled to be able to take pictures on my own, even though quality was absolutely awful.

I then had some "point & shoot" 35 mm, including a wonderful Yashica that was stolen out of my underwear drawer when my college apartment was robbed (I bleached all the underwear before wearing them again - ick!). If you question why I had the camera in my underwear drawer, 6 weeks earlier I caught a man trying to get into our apartment by hacking at the window sash with a screw driver. I flung a slew of curses at him and he ran off (the Providence Police were quite impressed that my bad mouth could scare off a burglar). This, by the way, is one of Bob's favorite stories from my past.

Anyway, I digress. I bought my 1st digital camera, a Canon point & shoot, about 5 years ago & that is the camera Bob currently uses. The next Canon was destroyed due to my slippery finger disease after just 21 months of use, was great but didn't handle bright reds well & the automatic focus in the macro function was quite annoying. So I started to see the lure of the DSLR...

This new REAL camera has me quite nervous. Will I break it? Will I drop a lens? Will I get the sensor dirty? Will I ever learn how to use it?

I can hear my beloved husband now, "Just Shut Up and Use It."

Gladly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.