Trial and Error

By DawnC

Trusty steed

This is part of the statue of Lord Strathnairn, Commander in Chief of India from 1861-1865. The statue was unveiled in 1895 on the Brompton Road in London. It was subsequently taken down in 1931 and kept in storage until 1964 when Westminster Council gave it to the owner of Foley Manor, Liphook (I know not why), on condition that it would have reasonable public access.

I popped along this evening to take a picture and one of the residents of the manor pulled over in her Landrover and, very nicely, pointed out that the road-sized tarmac surface I had driven down to the statue is in fact a footpath. I apologised and said I'd move my car straight away. She then drove off down the road path in her Landrover...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.