Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Exmoor

Last night after the exhibition, by mistake I went to Paddington instead of Waterloo and got on a train to Exeter.  No, you're right, of course I didn't.  But when I went for a walk today up onto Morn Hill and saw these Exmoor ponies, I did begin to wonder..

It seems that 5 wild (they are called 'semi-feral' on the notice by the gate) ponies have just been brought from Exmoor for the winter to chew back the larger and more invasive plants.  It's the only way to keep chalk downland butterfly-friendly and I have to say I thought them prettier than the rare-breeds cattle and less bonkers than the rare breeds sheep they've had up here in previous years.  They were, in fact, friendly and thoroughly inquisitive.  I enjoyed meeting them.

Now I know I have some catching up to do on your journals, so I won't go on burbling.  Have a great evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.