Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Very little effort...

...went into the making of this blip.  I grabbed the D750 with the 300/TC1.4 combo, donned a fleece and hat, zipped out back, snapped about 20 shots, and zipped back in.  It's cold, wet and blustery - barely fit for birds and definitely marginal for humans.  This is a very common House Finch, a species that can be found most days around our property.  The males are varying degrees of red; and it's believed that the redder males, like this one, are more appealing to the females.  They tend to be nomadic so some days there will be 20 out back and other days none or only a few.  I forget sometimes how pretty they are.

Yesterday after I blipped, I spotted two big monarchs in the buddleia - hopefully they are laid up somewhere until this cold front passes through.  Also after I posted yesterday, Scoobie flew off his perch and proceeded to chase Rockette all the way around to her rock wall in front of the house.  When he came back, his little chest was puffed up and I swear he was swaggering a bit.  No chippies around today - they are are snuggled up in their dens.

As for me, I'm planning to snuggle up in my den too, with a good book and a cup of tea.  Back still isn't quite right although the stretching is definitely helping.  Tomorrow I really want to get out and do some more work in the garden.

Ciao, people...
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.