Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

No Hunting, please

I neglected to mention yesterday that when I started on my walk, I encountered two men with rifles and beagles who were hunting rabbits.  They were sending the dogs into the brush to flush out rabbits which they were then going to shoot.  The whole thing unnerved me a bit - not that I begrudge anyone who hunts for food, but it was daunting to suddenly see two men with rifles in my path.  The times we live in here in the United States.

On a happier note, there is no hunting on the Lane.  Bunnies are free to come and go and eat whatever they wish (even if I sometimes wish they'd eat something different!)  The only things they have to be wary of are natural predators, like fox and coyote.  Never the less, this big Eastern Cottontail was watching me very closely as I tried to creep just a bit closer.  We ended up just spending some time staring at each other before I stealthily crept away to leave the rabbit to its day.  Thank you, rabbit, for giving me a very easy blip.

Hubs has just gone to get MIL.  We're making a slimmed-down version of eggplant parm for dinner which I know she'll enjoy.  Also talked to my parents this morning which is always great.  Planning to make a trip out to see them in January - something to look forward to.

Thanks for stopping by, and for the love on my sexy dragons yesterday.  Hoping to get back out to the that trail early this week.  (Hopefully without encountering any hunters this time!)

Cheers.
xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.