If you want to get a-head, get a hat...!

This is a bit of an Emergency Blip. It was taken while we waited in the queue to pay at M&S. I've rarely seen so many hats on display in one place at one time.

It's been quite a busy day. I accompanied my "Editor" to town as she wanted a new cardigan; she came back without a cardigan but with a new dress and a new pair of jeans - such is life! 

I was entertained while sitting outside the changing rooms waiting while the Editor tried on the jeans. I was pretending to read the BBC news on my phone but really was listening to the ladies as they came out. One lady was complaining about how big her belly was these days and how it showed in the dress she'd tried on; she said that her daughter was very slim, but she'd told the daughter that when she got to her age the daughter would look just like her...a bit unkind I thought!

Whilst in town we started our Christmas shopping, buying some toys for some of our great-nieces; this is remarkably early for us to start thinking about Christmas so we're feeling slightly smug (lots more still to do though).

We also wanted to look at new built-under ovens: the fan in our current (ancient) one has been making squeaky noises and needing a flick to start it for about 3 years, but this week it packed up completely - at least it condescended to do this well ahead of Christmas turkey time! We'd been hoping it would last until next year as we plan to do a bit of a kitchen upgrade then and might decide to change to a range cooker as part of that. So we're looking for a cheapish built-under one to fit the current space, which we could potentially give to a charity shop when the upgrade happens. We'd narrowed it down to 2 possibilities by websurfing and wanted to see them in the flesh - however none of the shops had them on display. Bother.

On returning home I thought I'd better do some more painting in our bathroom. Yes I know, if you follow my journal regularly you'll know this must be one of the longest smallish decorating jobs in history...but other things (either more important or more fun) keep getting in the way!

So that's why I had to use my Emergency Blip :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.