TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Geraldton Wax

Geraldton Wax or Chamelaucium Uncinatum  is endemic to Western Australia but is widely cultivated throughout Australia, although mainly in the drier climates, rather than the tropical north. 
I decided to go for a walk this afternoon to see if I could try once again for a bee shot, but had hardly stepped away from my front door when I spied this small plant growing under our flowering gum.  So down on my knees in my front garden (Blippers have no pride) I realised this was a newly planted by the gardener last year when we moved in, so I hadn't seen it flower before.  They are just 2cm across. What a delight to know I will have two varieties of wax flowers growing at my front door. Oh well, the bee shot will just have to wait.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.