My Day, My Life

By SixtySix66

Wolf Pack

This evening we were off to see some Elite League Racing.

Wolverhampton Wolves vs Eastbourne Eagles

The Elite League is sponsored by Sky Sports. And on a Monday evening, from March till October (this is the duration of the speedway season in the UK) they show a match in it's entirety.
They were in another part of the country the night we chose to visit.

However this didn't spoil our enjoyment of the racing.

So Elite riders get a lot more tv coverage than their counterparts do but then some riders race in more than one league.

We didn't have any of our current riders to cheer on, although there was a former Monarch amongst the Eagles lineup.

There were thrills & spills and you can see just why air-fences are becoming a common sight at tracks.
Though they're not cheap.

Could you imagine powering into a bend at 50-60 mph with no brakes and hitting a wire fence or worse.

Thankfully on this occasion there were no riders badly injured.

Just before Heat 15, the final race, My Girl & I were taken to the pits area by a lovely lady we've gotten to know, Julie and there we watched the Wolves win the meeting.
We then met all of the winning team, including one of My Girls favourite riders, Tai Woffinden and G.P. Star Fredrik Lindgren.

For those of you not regular with the names of riders, Fredrik is on the left, Tai is on the right.

And My Girl is in the middle

And me?

I'm behind the camera of course ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.