Tuscan holiday, day 3

I started the day with a walk along the walls of Pienza, but the morning was cloudy and soon it rained a little, so I returned to the hotel. After breakfast we drove off to Montalcino to buy some of the excellent local wine.

Next stop was the monastery of Sant' Antimo (extra #1). I have seen it outside before, but this time we went in and listened to the famous singing of the monks (though recorded, not live) for a moment. I can confirm that the church's reputation for great acoustics is well deserved!

Next Triinu wanted to go to Monte Amiata, the 1738 metres high (from sea level) lava dome that dominates the Val d'Orcia landscape. I wasn't exactly enthusiastic about driving there, but we made it to the parking lot at the skiing resort near the top and walked up the slope to the top. I took the main photo near the 1300 m sign. By then we had already driven a while through the enchanted beech forest which extended to the very top. The top was above clouds, but as we got there, some gaps started appearing and the views were quite breathtaking (extra #2).

Back down in the valley, I took the extra #3 near Castiglione d'Orcia. It's Pienza on the top of the hill in the background. Next we turned to Bagno Vignoni, ate ice cream by the large pool on the main square and dipped into the hot bath near the village!

Back in Pienza around sunset, I went for a walk on the walls. In the extra #4 the sunset above the valley, #5 the wall itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.