Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Stare

I've been neglecting the far side of the moor during the summer but the sun was shining today so I thought I'd stretch my legs and see how the autumn colours were developing.

I started in the graveyard, checking the ivy flowers for Red Admirals. No sign, but there were plenty of hoverflies (extras).

Along Moorside the sky was being patrolled by a pair of Red Kites with a solitary Kestrel negotiating for hovering rights.

Up Sconce Lane I was surprised to find Harebells still in bloom (extras). I stopped to admire the cattle, and this one with the characterful face returned my gaze. I'm not sure of the breed, but it looks a bit of a mixture.

Approaching Glovershaw the autumn sun was nicely burnishing the moorland grasses (extras): the rough pasture was occupied by a flock of 200+ Starlings and dozen Greylag.

Then it was over the moor back to the village with a detour to check the fields around Hope Farm, with just a single Grey Partridge on show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.