Fly Gals

Formation flying with friends in a couple of Piper Cubs and a Turb made for a fantastic day on this sunny Sunday afternoon.

A stinking headwind gave us a 47 mph ground speed and 50 minute flight up to the North Kent coast to Maypole Airport. I navigated for my new friend Cherry who flew a great formation and was a lovely relaxed pilot. She's in training for her ATPL and a very capable pair of hands she was too!

My homemade lemon squeezy cake fed the troops on arrival with a cup of tea and chat to a flying friend based from the airfield before we all swapped aircraft for the return leg. I flew in the back seat of the other Cub piloted by my friend Dave in a short 10 minute flight home.

Flying the Turb completing the 3-ship formation was my friend Tim who is hoping to train up to join the team in future. My friend Karl made up the group and has just started flying tailwheel aircraft too. I'm motivated to get back to flying vintage aircraft soon too.

Much photo taking, aviation chatter and laughter were the order of the day. Pub supper, wine and plans for more flying adventures soon rounded off an awesome day with friends old and new.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.