EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

Mount Shasta and the little extra volcano in front

called Shastina. Hard to believe , and I am a bit ashamed to admit it, but this picture was taken while I was driving on the freeway, with my little Canon point and shoot. This view that you have on I 5 just a bit south of Ashland is always a delight, and especially on a sunny day.
The day did not start out sunny. Quite the opposite. Rain when we left Florence shortly after 7 am after some stressy packing and house cleaning (always lots to do and to think of when we are leaving for the winter).
but already 40 minutes later, past Reedsport, it was dry and the sun came slowly up, lightning up the Umqua river, that always impresses me by its majesty. The road next to it is narrow and there are very little spots where you can stop to take a picture that does it justice. I stopped twice to get a shot - see the extra if you like.
We left it 12 degrees C, had 4 - 6 degrees when we drove over the mountain ranges and arrived in Reno at 5.30 in 21 degrees C.  That will take some adapting.....But it was lovely to see the sun again, the last week was just a bit too wet and grey for our taste and as the following week will be the same, we spontaneously changed our plans and left earlier.
I enjoyed my time in Oregon greatly. Now I am looking forward to an exciting winter in Reno and elsewhere in the world.

Thanks to you for your lovely comments, stars and even hearts for my 900 Blips. It felt a little undeserved but was very encouraging.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.