West Norwood blips

By KandCamera

First look at Japan

It was dark by the time I arrived in Japan yesterday (and I took the underground from the airport) so this morning was my first proper look at the country. 

I went shopping for an adaptor this morning - very helpful shop assistants found me the right one. Then I collected my Japan rail pass from the station. The process was much faster than I expected and when I asked where I should go to get a ticket to Nagasaki, 30 seconds later the ticket is in my hand and the train leaving in 15 mins!

This is taken from the train. A classic Asia shot of rice fields and mountains. The train took just over 2 hours. This afternoon I went to the Dejima area. Although I studied history, it never included any Japanese history so I didn't know that Japan had over 200 years when the only foreigners allowed in the country were Dutch merchants who were confined to Dejima. It was really interesting but my photos aren't great.

The extra is taken nearby the Dejima wharf.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.