Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Can't resist

It's been over a month now that I've been seeing red-breasted nuthatches in our yard.  I'm still not entirely sure why there are so many in our area right now - it's unusual and as I've mentioned before, I haven't seen them in our yard in 4 years.  But, I'm not one to look a gift horse too closely in the mouth so I just enjoy the moments when one of these tiny birds flits in for a quick look around.  Today, this little guy/gal was enjoying some fresh meal worms that I'd put out for the titmice. Funny, that the white-breasted nuthatches aren't at all interested in the mealies, but this little guy was making repeated trips to the feeder, carrying his treat off into the trees.

I also had some fun playing with the Helicon Focus program this morning.  It was cold out and there were a couple of bumble bees sitting on the flowers, trying to warm up, so I had some fairly willing subjects.  Even so, it was hard to get a good stack - maybe more so because my close up vision isn't all that reliable, even with readers.  Still, it was fun and I'm learning.  You can see the results of one stacking experiment on Flickr - HERE, a bumble bee

And one other bird from today, a hatch-year house finch surrounded by glorious fall colors.

Wondering if any of you out there have come up with a way to tether your Nikon (or Canon) to an iPad?  I'm not looking to spend the $$ for a CamRanger set up, but maybe someone has used a less expensive solution?  This would allow me to use some of the other features of Helicon.  Let me know if you have any ideas


Thanks very much for all the love on the Tiny Gardeners yesterday.  As winter marches ever closer, I expect you'll be seeing more of the Tinies.

Cheers,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.