a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Mono Monday: Film Noir

The Postman Always Rings Twice

Cora: I want all these chairs painted.
Frank: All right. I'll look in the paper. Maybe I can find a sale on some cheap paint.
Cora: You won't find anything cheap around here! Look in the cupboard under the counter.
Frank: As my friend Nick would say, 'That's wonderful.' Next time anybody makes a trip into town, they can pick up a paintbrush.
Cora: Look on the bottom shelf.
Frank: Well, what do you know about that. Why didn't you start this campaign of rehabilitation before I came? Or were you waiting for me?
Cora: Nick was saving that paint.
Frank: Nick saves a lot of things.
Cora: It's none of your business what he saves.
Frank: I didn't say it was. Only when I have something, I don't save it. What do you want to paint these chairs for. They look all right to me.
Cora: Because I want to make something of this place. I want to make it into an honest-to-goodness...
Frank: Well, aren't we ambitious? We want to make a lot of money so we can buy lots of pretty clothes. Or maybe we want to put a little aside for our husband and us in our old age?
[He grabs her and kisses her. She pulls away and reapplies her lipstick before leaving - without a word.]
Frank: [voiceover] For a couple of weeks then, she wouldn't look at me, or say a word to me if she could help it. I began to feel like a cheap nobody making a play for a girl that had no use for me. While I disturbed her, and I knew she hated me for that worst of all.

This was my second best idea - after featuring Cathy in a blip last week she has steadfastly refused to star on the blip screen, at least for the time being.  Which is a shame, I had some ideas for putting on that scene in the kitchen of the remake starring Jack Nicholson and Jessica Lange ...  :-D

Its interesting trying to take a film noir shot.  I have deliberately lit this dramatically (AKA badly)  and have added grain to the shot to try to give it that authentic feel.

With many thanks  to Dollykgray for hosting the challenge again this week :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.