Sweet Peas

A good day even if I didn't make the best of it. By evening realised I hadn't got a photo, so quickly out and grabbed a bit of colour. I have never before had any success with sweet peas here in Germany and heard the same story from other exPats. However this year, they have done well. Would have liked some more vivid colours but given one has as good as no choice of seeds, think I have to put a packet of UK seeds on my Christmas wish list.

The plants are now about 2.5m high and were put in very poor soil and not fed at all, and most imprtantly, managed to survive the chickens scratching.

Much to my horror, learnt today that all my efforts to show up "Project Fear" for what it is, has failed miserably, OR PERHAPS, it is the Remainers who started this scam: In response to Mre Leadsom's rallying call to the UK flag, had stocked up on Chivers Jam this week. Looking at the jam jar labels saw "Made in England" and "Cambridge". Then happened to see an address in Scotland? Was this Chivers trying to sneak out of the Union through the back door? On to the web and then came the horror. The Chivers brand belongs to a non English, non UK, non GB, non Welsh, non Northern Ireland, non Gibraltar, non Falklands registered company but rather a "Rest 27" EU country - The Irish, a firm called Boyne Valley Group. For the sake of everyone's health, I won't get in to the history of the English monarchy and what they were doing at the Battle of the Boyne.

Mad at the tricks of the Remain spin doctors, I will now redouble my efforts and hope soon to find a supplier of Tiptree Cherry Jam - was anyway always my favourite. I have checked already that they are a pukka English company. Will go well with the Carr's & Jacob's biscuits and for the moment could be complimented by a great Scottish McVities Digestive or Ginger Nut. Yummy and patriotic in each and every bite.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.