Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Coons out for lunch

Hung out in my dory this hot afternoon for awhile hoping to catch the seals nursing their pups. But they must have been hot too as they wouldn't get out of the water. As I was rowing along my shore (in the shade) there was a loud HISSING sound coming from the water's edge. Mom raccoon and her family of 3 were foraging for lunch! I watched for quite awhile while she turned over many rocks and ate many decent size (2"?) crabs, but never once did she offer one to the kids who were nibbling on the stuff hanging down from the trees as well as whatever seemed tasty on the beach. Raccoons with saltwater beach access will eat crabs, fish, snails, aquatic invertebrates and other meaty things.....as well as frogs, eggs, land snails, plants and the birdseed from my feeders if I don't put pepper in it! I confess we do give them some "treats" now and then, that don't belong in our compost pile, or back in the sea. We don't eat meat tho so they don't get any....
They certainly can be pests and are happy to eat our garbage... But these little faces are pretty cute, aren't they?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.