Idle

Not me. I was on my morning run when I took this picture from the end of Queen's Wharf right in the heart of central Auckland on the harbour.

Nor the sun. It was busy lighting the sky as the earth rotated to turn New Zealand towards the sun for the day ahead. The sun emerged from behind the horizon, and the clouds, about two minutes after I took this. I preferred the colours in this to the flare of the rising sun.

Not even the catamaran, out of sight now, which had just passed across the opening between Queen's Wharf and the container terminal. Very busy preparing to start a day of dolphin spotting.

It's not even fair to suggest that the cranes are idle as they require men (or women, but I think there are few employed by the Ports of Auckland) to drive them. And are the men actually idle, as their employers would have us believe, when the employer side declined to settle negotiations on terms of employment? The strike that ensued resulted in the loss of a major amount of container shipping to the Tauranga port, resulting in the Auckland port becoming idle much more than it used to be.

It is worth a look in large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.