CREAM CAKES AND BAGATELLE!

Yesterday it was about the men in my family, but today it is about our lovely granddaughter, Charlotte.  Although we live in the same town, we don’t see her very often, as she is very busy, being in her Second year of a Foundation Degree in Music Performance at university, as well as having a part-time job.  
 
We managed to find a date that suited all of us so she popped round this afternoon.  I decided we would have cream cakes and tea, so I got out the best china. I say “got out” because I had stored it upstairs when we decorated our lounge and hadn’t brought it back down as there was too much to go back into the new sideboard but it was rather nice to use beautiful crockery, so perhaps I need to make room.
 
It was good to chat and to find out what is going on her life – and we all enjoyed tea and cakes – not just any old cream cakes, but M & S cakes.  After we had finished, I got out the bagatelle board and Charlotte’s eyes lit up – we were going to play the best of five rounds, but having got “into the swing” of things, we played a few more – and Mr. HCB ended up winning – Charlotte and I decided that his new nickname would be “Smug Mug”! 
 
We were chatting about the bagatelle board, as Mr. HCB reckons it has been in his family for almost 100 years – it is always great to play and obviously brings back many happy memories for Mr. HCB about when he played as a young child – strange how even with their mobile phones and other games, this one is still a favourite with our grandchildren.  Interestingly, the highest scores are written on the back of the board and our grandson, Harry, holds that honour achieved on his Great Grandad's 100th birthday!
 
When she first arrived, I mentioned to Charlotte that I thought she looked like Candice, one of the finalists in Great British Bake Off – so she told me she had worn the dark pink lipstick in honour of her and hopes that she wins – I rather hope she wins too.
 
All in all, a lovely afternoon – not sure I want to cook a large meal now – of course, we may feel peckish later in the evening, but it will have to be before GBBO or Mr. HCB will be cooking!
 
“You have to learn
     the rules of the game,
          and then you have to play
               better than anyone else.”
Albert Einstein

P.S.  As Charlotte is wearing pink lipstick, and it is still Breast Cancer Awareness Month, please click on the link so that someone may have a free mammogram.  Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.