Good morning!

Having not eaten the previous evening I arrived hungry at Piccadilly Station and was hoping to find a sit-down cooked breakfast but expecting an unhealthy greasy English one which would fill me but one I would later regret. It was with great pleasure that I found Carluccio's and was served their plate of perfectly poached eggs on Italian bread, fried pancetta, mushrooms (including ceps and chanterelles) and baby plum tomatoes, all served with good Italian coffee and fresh orange juice. Quite the best cooked breakfast I have ever had and a great start to the day! But what should I expect: in the words of Steve Coogan as the immortal Tony Wilson in 24-Hour Party People, "This is Manchester: we do things differently here".

Last night finished well: my favourite United player, Juan Mata, got the only goal, after which the atmosphere really cranked up. I was one block from the City fans and it was rather noisy and tense by the end.

Hurrah for Manchester!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.