Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Whoops-plan aheaaaaaad

OK -one step forward and ten back. Instead of changing the carpet on the second floor before we moved in, we waited. I could not wait to start my Sn3 railroad. The mistake was to depend on legs to hold the bench work. The legs of course sit on the carpet. Very hard to rip up the carpet and get new stuff in. With legs sitting on the carpet. In the N room I was at least smarter - and used wall supported struts to hold everything off the floor. Not so in the Sn3 world. Actually would have been very hard as the right side of the opening shown in the blip was too far from the wall to use a strut.

So - first off came the door and tracks that connected the two sides. Now I am constructing two wooden beams that will span from wall to wall and hold up both sides of the opening under neath but way above the carpet. All the legs will be cut away from the carpet. The rear legs can be replaced with wall struts. But the legs at the door will require a different solution. I plan on using height adapting leg struts. The kind you can screw up and down to make small adjustments in height. They fit on the bottom of the shortened legs. Once that is done, the beams come out and the door goes back on. Have to reattach the power and switch leads to the door but by then that is a small deal compared to the structure I will be building.

The carpet installer was cooperative but clearly not thrilled with working under my train table. I don't blame him. My wife makes me wear a hard hat because every time I go under I hit something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.