A Tiny Bit More Progress

Once again, Victoria came to help out today, she is on half-term from her college studies.  As I was feeling very good this morning, I decided, at long last to get around to cutting three inches off of the wall adjacent to the kitchen window.  The problem was that the builders built an additional wall beyond our existing single house wall to provide a cavity wall, but did not align the new window apertures with the old ones.  My problem has therefore been to (a) fit joists above the windows, where the builders had left no supporting structure and (b) cut out one side of the existing window aperture and build out the other side.  I have already fitted steel joists to support the brickwork above the window aperture, so that the remaining work was to cut out three inches of brickwork on one side and add four inches on the other.  I have been putting off the cutting out of the brickwork, for a long time as I was very concerned about the standard of work that was required for this.  Well, today I did it and it was much easier than I had ever expected, so today’s blip is a picture showing the new location of the left-hand edge of this window.  All that remains now is to build out the right-hand edge, by a tiny fraction over three inches, this sounds easy, but a standard brick width is four and a half inches, so nothing is simple. 

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.