Life In Wales

By KarenC

Saltdean Lido

I blipped the Lido in our village some time ago, before the restoration works started.

£4.7 million was granted by the National Heritage Lottery Fund and I think an additionl £4 million has been raised by other rundraising events.  Initially they're working on the swimming pool which looks fantastic and is a 40 metre pool with a depth of 1.9 metres at it's deepest. The pool is scheduled to open next Spring and then there are plans to restore the Grade II listed building to incorporate a gym, restaurant and conference facilities.  I for one can't wait until it's opened!

Mum and I went for a stroll along the undercliff walk to Rottingdean, had lunch at Molly's Beach Cafe and then after a wander round the village we walked back.  We had an hour in the 'Palace' and are now getting ready to go out for a drink with Alison, Barbs and Chrissy.  I think mum's enjoying her visit :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.