and through the wire...

By hesscat

Why?

We went to see I, Daniel Blake today, a Ken Loach film about a man struggling with the benefits system. I've been fortunate not to have had to rely on the state myself (so far), nor do I know people who do. Despite being aware of the issues, it is difficult to really appreciate the situations people find themselves in. 

Although a fictional film, it's based on real situations and it shows the effects of the incompetent processes people have to follow. In this day and age, how can we have a situation where some people have to rely on others' kindness and charities in order to survive. I don't understand how politicians can justify it; clearly they are so removed from it all. I am trying to avoid a rant about the state of UK politics at the moment, and for that matter in the US too... yeah I'll stop there...

After the showing the Cameo were collecting money for food banks and inviting people to add their comments to the the film's promotional poster.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.