dreaming

By dreaming

A successful day

This is a photo of the colorful plant life to be seen in my sister's garden at this time.  I love the way the two trees lean into each other, one so bright and the other so somber.  The image also reminds us of the cost of all this beauty - millions of leaves having to be cleaned up.  I am glad it is not my job.

Today I did start my volunteer job working with adults at my local library.  I am happy to say that it went extremely well and that I'm excited to be doing it.  There are about eight other tutors and we worked with 12 to 14 clients.  Mine were a newly immigrant couple from Iran who wanted help with their English and planning their job hunt; they were educated and had successful careers at home, but want to change fields completely.  I think I was helpful to them, and they will probably return next week.  

My other client was an elderly Russian-speaking man who had come into have someone read and explain to him a letter from a lawyer.  It was not good news, and it was hard to get him to understand what the letter meant for him for the future.  That said, I was able to refer him to Senior Services where they can find resources to help him with the legal problem.

What was special was feeling that I did manage to help these people and that what we are doing is valuable.  The other tutors are all pleasant folks, and I don't think there's a one under 50.  So we all have life experience to bring to the task.

Hope all of your days were as fruitful and satisfying as mine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.