Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Exmoor Ponies, Sutton Park

We visited family today and took the opportunity for a walk in Sutton Park.  While out we came across this small group of Exmoor ponies. 

It surprised me when I read that the Exmoor ponies were first introduced into Sutton Park, north of Birmingham in 1999.  They have thrived in the area, supporting the efforts to maintain a heath and acid grassland habitat in the northern part of the park.  I was also surprised to read that the park is the seventh largest in Europe.  You often take things for granted when they are on your door step and I can remember walking through this park more than 50 years ago (when I was very small).  It is a fantastic open space in the north of the city and always a pleasure to visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.