You lookin' at me?!

Today has been quiet, sorting out Asha's winter clothes, what still fits, what needs to be given away... She loved it! We've done her home work ready for Wednesday...she has today & tomorrow off because of All Saints day tomorrow - a national holiday. We're currently doing a maths workbook I got from Poundland when I was in the UK...if kids don't hit their targets here, they are made to repeat the year...I feel really aware that Asha's got to hit her targets AND do it all in Spanish and Catalan...I know 3 kids a year older than Asha who have been held back. It just seems so incredibly damaging to children...one kid I know asked his Mom why he wasn't normal!! Poor thing! He just doesn't learn the way they teach and is developing differently. My comfort re Asha is that she seems to enjoy learning, and is, for instance, loving doing this maths activity book...plus her teacher hasn't flagged concerns...yet.

Today I'm grateful for;
1) Danny coming home tonight!!!
2) Asha's delight at this maths book (I always hated maths, glad she doesn't seem to follow me in that regard).
3) News that friends have had a baby girl...giving birth at lunchtime and being home for dinner...Amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.