Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Phoebe!

I was sitting at breakfast when my ears detected the sound of someone outside saying "Phoebe! Phoebe! Phoebe!" Ordinarily that would be a Spring sound around here. So, somewhat startled, I jumped up and grabbed the camera and went to look at the back porch - which is where our Eastern Phoebes typically nest and hang about. Sure enough, there he was. I am aware that Phoebes, though I always think of them as "returning" here in the Spring from parts south, actually are just as likely to live here year round. And I have on occasion spotted one here and there on our regular walks during the Winter. But I don't generally see *our* Phoebes between late September and early March. I've rather assumed that the Phoebes I see hereabouts in the Winter might be ones that nest a bit further north and shift down here for the off season, and that *our* Phoebes might move a bit further south for their Winter vacation. Thus - I was surprised to see him calling his name in his usual spot on our porch. But delighted! Perhaps he's confused by the lovely weather we've been having? He even seemed to be looking over the nesting spots...

I have belatedly decided to add a photo I took a couple of days ago as an extra. The creepy Hallowe'en guy at the end of a driveway up the road a bit. Some people do go all out! For some reason he seems to be coming out sideways, so I'll have to go ahead and add him and see if it comes out right when it's finished. Or, go back and rotate it and see if that works. Grumble.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.