Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Very Small and Even Smaller

I became fascinated this afternoon by all the insects, most of them sweat bees, but also a large number of these Ailanthus Webworm Moths getting the last of the available nectar from my chrysathemum-ish things. They're just about the only flowers still blooming. There were also a few assorted flower flies and at least a couple of crab spiders. Oh, and what appeared to be a spotted cucumber beetle. And what I think was a flesh fly (see extra). Anyhoo - I was snapping photos right and left when I noticed that this particular Ailanthus moth had a tiny tiny moth next to it. No idea what it is, and likely not a hope of finding out.

I should add that the Ailanthus moth is about 20mm long.

And also, that my little owl is very excited about having been on the first popular page! S/he thanks you very much for all the hearts!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.