Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Colorado River

I had to drive my cousin to Denver yesterday (because airlines are run by lunatics!) to catch her flight home.  So today I drove back the 5 hours by myself.  I decided after getting out of Denver to take the 2 lane road instead of remaining on the interstate further.   The ride was up over Berthoud Pass (Pipersmom, you know how high and curvy that road is!)  and then I traveled through Winter Park, Fraser, Tabernash, Granby and then Kremmling..where I filled the tank with gas..and discovered I had an almost flat tire.   If you blink twice going through Kremmling, you will miss the town.  So a little heart flutter until I asked the lady in the market at the station where I might get it fixed..just back a few blocks from the station.  So the nice young man fixed it..a nail!  Then I was back on the the road again.   As I climbed the next mountain, the fog rolled in and it got very cold..I kept thinking snow but not.   Then I had to stop again for a turned over truck on the side of the road,  yikes.  I finally got down that hill and called my friend Sandy who lives close by..she said "come for lunch".  Okay!     After a brief visit, I went to the grocery store and then still had a 2 hour ride to get back to this house.    So after 7 hours, I made it here..and saw SNOW on the high mountain across the road from the house.  The dirt road was just a big mud puddle..apparently it rained buckets here but up there it was snow.  

So I decided to post a pretty photo of the river near Kremmling..it makes me appreciate the ride that took way too long!   This photo is straight out of the camera, not even a crop!  

I think I am staying here and not driving anywhere tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.