Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Straight up

About 4pm yesterday, I decided I needed to get outside and walk.  Since I had to been restricted from walking on the hillside behind the house while the hunting was going on I decided to tackle the hike to the top..straight up to the top!   Jerry said to take a walkie talkie in case he had to come and get me!   Silly man!     

It was not so hard in most parts as it goes straight up, levels off and then more straight up...and I stopped many times to get photos of the valley.    I shot this photo as close to 50mm as I could to get the most accurate representation of how far I was from the house.   It was actually about a mile away at this point!     Map My Hike is a great tool to have on the iphone for keeping up with how far one walks and how long it takes, along with elevation ( and other things but it does use up plenty of the battery.    I always laugh as usually out here it takes me an hour to walk a mile..too many stops along the way!    Not too mention stopping to breathe as the elevation will kick my butt!     Taking photos is a good way to combine the breathing and photo opportunities!

Going downhill the dog led the way through the oak brush on the animal trails..I did see two female deer who were watching my progress.   

I think this photo gives a perspective of how huge this valley is between the mountains.   The house looks so tiny from up here compared the big mountains on the other side of the road.     So the tiny house is my entry for tiny Tuesday.    And I did circle around the area to get back down the hill!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.