First frost

I think that last night was our first frost, though I haven't looked at the thermometer for a while. Out in the open on the deck it registered minus 1.5. I think so - the figures are all but illegible. In fact I'm going out there again with a magnifying glass to make sure! I have, and it was correct! As a result we've had a wonderfully sunny day, though cold when the sun went behind the occasional cloud.

We went down to the Corran Halls this morning to a talk and coffee with the U3A - it's been suggested by a friend that I join. We knew a few of the people there, but we were unsure about joining - we were probably the youngest people there, dare I say it! I might join and try out some of the groups to broaden my horizons - science, geology maybe poetry reading. Ha! Mrs M feels a bit too young, which maybe she is!

The Corran Halls is the modern building to the right of my picture - it was built in 1965. In the centre the white tower is the Kilmore & Oban Church of Scotland, opened in 1957 and closed in 2013, and to the left is St Columba's Roman Catholic Cathedral, begun in 1932 and completed in 1959. So all fairly new in Oban terms!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.