Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

The dark side

This is what I had meant to blip yesterday for Hallowe'en.  Pretty macabre, though hugely atmospheric.  There's another in Extras, though maybe a bit in-yer-face for some tastes (including mine, I don't mind saying).

It is what is called a cadaver tomb.  There are two in Winchester Cathedral.  This is the one of Richard Fox, Bishop of Winchester, 1501-1528.  He was Secretary and Keeper of the Seal to Kings Henry VII and VIII, and the founder of Corpus Christi College, Oxford.  Cadaver tombs seem to be mainly a thing of the late Middle-Ages, an odd conceit of these rich and powerful men and surely a reminder of the dark side of their minds and imaginations.

Finally, I have to say it was very hard to blip, set down near the floor with a heavy grille in front of it.  It was also pretty dim in there. 

A thoroughly misty cold grey day altogether, though I did spend a useful couple of hours with my old gent learning more from an IT instructor about how his laptop and its software for the blind actually works.

Choir tonight, so I'll do what commenting I can before I go.  Have a good one  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.