In My World

By JoanneInOz

On this day

August 16 ~

In 1977, Elvis Presley died, in 1958, the singer Madonna was born.

My father-in-law John celebrates his birthday today.

And even if Jupiter aligned with Mars today, and I could take a photo of the event from here on earth, my blip today would be just as it is, for today marks the 14th anniversary of the day when I lost the hero of my life.

As a young child, my father was my hero, my rock, my safe place to go when my world came crashing down around me. His unemotional strength gave me security. With dad on my side, nothing could ever harm me. And he was always on my side.

When I grew older, my father retained his position as the hero in my life.

Perhaps I viewed this remarkable man through rose coloured glasses, but I don't think I did. His attributes far outweighed his failings.

As dad aged, he let down some of the barriers he had held firmly onto in his younger days, and the unemotional strength shifted and mellowed. The strength remained, while a certain amount of vulnerability showed, which only made me love and admire him more.

Whilst I miss my pillar of strength every single day, I would not have exchanged him for any other man in the world. He was the perfect father for me, one of the greatest blessings of my life.

Remembering my dad, Sam, on this day....

March 29, 1920 (Manchester, England) to

August 16, 1998 (Tweed Heads, Australia)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.