The river's nearly run dry

Photography this morning, lunch and then round the corner to see friend's new granddaughter.  Gosh, she is so tiny but such a good baby.  Long may it last.

I always keep the bedroom window slightly open but yesterday opened it fully to take a picture out of the window and to my horror I saw that there were dozens, and I mean dozens, of harlequin ladybirds setting up residence in the hinge section.  I did see lots of them scaling the walls of the house over the weekend and wondered where they were going.  Now I know.

On my way home I stopped close to the river and could barely see it through the reeds.  I can't remember the last time we had any decent rainfall.  (Can you have such a thing as "decent" rainfall?).   One weather forecaster, I forget who, refers to rain as "bits and bobs".  Has anyone ever seen any of these?

This was a view looking towards Oakley from the river and is my contribution to Wide Angle Wednesday.  Strictly speaking (or writing), it's a letterbox crop and not a panorama.

I seem to be having a "pedantic" sort of day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.