Fishy Subject

Everybody is leaf peeping so I thought I'd join in. I went to Panshanger Park with the aim of capturing the 500 year old Great Oak in her autumn dress.

A little jetty has been constructed over one of the ponds and I spent ages there shooting common darter dragonflies. I found the above on the top of a, new, wooden railing. I thought at first that it was an exuvia, it's about the right size. What a surprise, it's a three-spined stickleback! No idea how it got there, maybe brought by a bird?

As I crossed the River Mimram I was thrilled to hear and see a kingfisher. I got a lovely shot of the leaf next to it perfectly in focus. :(

The Great Oak's leaves have only just started to turn (extras). I had a lovely walk and met some nice dogs. My favourites were three elegant and gentle Borzois. I was amused by the antics of three rams. They kept jostling and trying to mate with one another and then had a fight. All three stepped back and at the same moment lunged. Their three heads knocked together with a sickening thud. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.