Steptoe's place

Remember Steptoe and Sons? I liked that programme, I used to watch it with Dad and my brother. Driving home on a damp, grey, and cool Thursday evening that's what this place reminded me of.

My place looks pretty messy on the inside and it needs me to get on with things. Quite what I'm getting on with and why I'm not sure.

Things are not going well with the Earthquake Commission. Yesterday they approved packers, movers, and storage, and someone to take the cantilever arm and telly off the wall and reinstall it again. But they didn't approve my accommodation.

Instead they changed the rules on me again. I was told the accommodation I'd arranged was within their price range, but now it isn't. Could I please supply another quote for accommodation asap.

"No" I said. I don't have time, I'm at work, at a conference working long hours, and I'd supplied everything asked of me. I didn't shoot the messenger. I just told her I wouldn't be shifting out and they'd have to re-think their repair strategy and repair my home with me in it.

"Oh".

Their budget is good for a sleezy room at the local pub, the YMCA, or a backpackers. I'm not doing any of these options while my home is being fixed for the second time because of scope omissions and poor workmanship.

Anyway, thanks to a kind friend with a short term property rental business I have the option of a beautiful wee home in the country. It's no where near my home or work but it's within EQCs range because of my friends kindness and generosity.

The location is stunning, the house looks beautiful, and it could well be a place of calm and healing - if EQC approves it. I have no idea when that might be, or if it fits within whatever they've decided today's price range is. Assuming it works out I'll figure out driving to and from work, and when I visit my home.

On Monday I'll talk to a local Christchurch MP who's active in the community and who's taken a genuine interest in the plight of people dealing with the Earthquake Commission. I'm looking at engaging a lawyer and sometime this weekend I'll need to lodge a complaint against EQC with the Ombudsmen Office.

I'm just so glad the Prime Minister, John Key said "no one will be worse off because of the the earthquakes". Imagine what it would be like if he hadn't.

Other than that, I can't think of anything else I've got on ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.