Left Undone

Dear Diary,

I visited Dotty's daughter the other day and she gave me this little piece of counted cross-stitch that Dotty had been working on before her eyesight began to fail her.  She thought I could finish it.  Now, I must admit, I am not much of a hand at this, my mother and grandmother were, but I never really mastered it.  I see it more as a metaphor for our "unfinished business"...things we start and never complete.  We all have such projects.

Coincidentally, the Maine Historical Society is opening a new show this Friday called, Left Undone.  They will be showing many objects from their collection which were never completed and asking visitors to speculate on why the object was never finished.  I hope to get to the show at some point.  I think it is an interesting premise for an exhibit.

What will we leave undone?  Well, at least I can say the family chronicle is finished.  I made the covers for the two copies yesterday, the last thing I need to do to say, "all done".  It is a good feeling to put closure to such a long and complex project.  It is one bit of "business" that I did not want to leave undone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.