Ganavan

For the third time this year I've chummed Cameraman to Oban where he's lucky enough to get occasional work. The first and second times I was very lucky with dry and sunny weather but today was a different story. I don't know what possessed me to imagine that I know better than the BBC's no doubt world-class meteorologists who've been forecasting heavy rain today since Monday but as it wasn't too wet in Oban I decided to stick to Plan A. This saw the dog and me on the 10:00 CalMac sailing to Mull. Needless to say, upon arrival at Craignure we walked ashore into very wet weather. I thought we'd try to tough it out but after about 45 minutes we had to admit defeat. The dog would probably have surrendered after five minutes. Luckily the Craignure Inn a) welcomes dogs b) has a log fire and c) provides gluten free sandwiches so all was not lost. I'd planned to get the 15:00 crossing back to Oban but cut things short and got the 13:00. It was still dry-ish in Oban so I headed up to Ganavan Sands to blow away the cobwebs. Now I'm waiting for Cameraman to finish work and unfortunately it's wet again. We're staying overnight and the forecast for tomorrow is much better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.