Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

It doesn't have to make sense...

Hopped on the same bus as my Uncle A and I treated him to a coffee at My Club. He was most impressed. They seem to have been managing without me. A shortbread biscuit and a digestive were consumed. He is thinking of putting a small amount of money in their care, in return for this service. I think that's a very good idea.

After coffee and a catchup, I strolled through St Andrews Square. A very strange show was going on, with crowds sitting on the grass, watching in amazement as people swung from ropes and seemed to be acting out something to loud music. It's the Fringe. It doesn't have to make sense. Everyone looked happy, it was a nice holiday atmosphere in the sun.

My intention for the day was to enrol for a couple of Day/Evening Classes. These get booked up pretty quickly, so I had it written in the calendar. You could enrol in three ways: in person at the South Bridge Centre, by phone or by post. I decided to do it in person. No. That option is only available on certain days. Can I do it by phone? No. That option is only after a certain date, when they may well be all booked up anyway. So by post it is, then. Not very clear on the website.

I'm signing on for Pilates. Everyone says it'll be good for me. If they ask me to sit cross legged, I'm off. I'm a wee bit suspicious as the equipment required is comfortable clothing and a belt - a dressing gown cord will do... Whatever for?

I'm also going to learn to swim properly. In my schooldays in the dim and distant past, before they built a new school with a swimming pool, school swimming consisted of a double period of walking miles down to the seashore, splashing about in the freezing sea (one teacher, 35 kids) and hiking all the way back to school. Needless to say, a lot of the girls brought notes to get out of it as often as possible - at least once a month, twice if the teacher didn't keep careful note of non participants.

I chose this blip today because they reminded me of the three girls in Hove. In fact, I think it is them. They've put on a bit of weight since I last saw them.

Haven't we all...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.