Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A dreich, but hopefully productive, day

A rather dreich day (and I haven't said that in a while) so I didn't fancy going down town to look at the daft folk in the rain. No, I needed something in the house. Something colourful. Flowers? None. Collection of china jugs? No, I'm saving them for when I'm really ill and can't go out.

Then I remembered. The big bag of Aussie Licorice Allsorts!

Aussies do really good licorice. In fact, you can buy Aussie licorice in the UK at the Land of Lakes. The bags cost £3.50. The same bag in Oz costs $2. It should cost £1.33 here, according to my money converter. So somebody's making money.

Funnily enough, as CBLinks reminded me, the Allsorts that look like a pelican's eye, the big round coconut ones, are not to be seen in Oz. But you do get dozens of those blue ones.

They started off in a bigger dish, but ended up in this wee one, due to them constantly forcing themselves into my mouth as I cried "No!". I've only stopped eating them because I feel sick.

I had a weak moment this morning and decided to take to the torture machine cross trainer. I will start my regime again. A half hour in the morning, watching something on iplayer to take my mind off the boredom pain.

I have booked tickets for this afternoon's showing of Brave. I have it on good authority (Mr CBL) that it is fantastic and un-missable. Besides, it's a wet day and on Fridays it's cheap.

And so I will spend the morning letting my creative juices flow. No, I'm not writing a play like aprecious. I'm writing letters of complaint to Emirates and Jetstar, which will no doubt be duly and unceremoniously filed in the nearest spherical container. I will also fill in my Adult Education form and send it off. You will see a new, fitter me by the winter!

I am also going to, if I can't think of something else to do, fill in that bloomin' pensions form. Again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.