Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Birthday lunch

Went to a show last night, which was very very good, but had lots and lots of quite bad swearing. And graphic sexual references. What fascinated me was the deaf interpreter, standing at the side of the stage for an hour and a half. I was trying to learn the sign language for f******* c**** or ‘I put a spatula up her ****’. She deserved a big clap for her efforts. It can’t have been easy.

Today the predicted torrential rain did not eventuate in the never-ending Edinburgh Summer of 2013. There was a brief shower, then back out steaming hot and sunshine - the wind drove it all away.

I had a wander down the Mile, and this time I left my EVF at home, and the camera is then almost pocket sized. I did a lot of waist level shots, using the flip out screen. I took loads of action shots of an energetic group, and had no idea what they were doing - it was mime and dancing - but apparently it was The Fantastic Mr Fox. Could have fooled me...

But this shot kept jumping out at me when choosing my blip. It's the Mile, but a calm wee corner of it. I like the reds, the slightly menacing Advocate’s Close behind, the international papers on sale. I think they were comparing stars. Or perhaps audience numbers. Or where to get a cheap meal in town. But looking at the red nosed person's poster, he's probably misleading them somewhat... This is SOOC, not even cropped.

Met up with JR and we went to Jamie’s Italian for a belated birthday lunch. It was hoachin’, but it’s great - they have kept up the standard and the presentation despite being mobbed day and night from Day One. Jamie must be pleased. I must write to him about the terrible muzak.

This morning, while sneezing, I hurt my back. I’ve never done that before - I’ve always enjoyed a good sneeze. It has got steadily worse all day, and I am now pushed to point to a part of my body that does not ache, what with the already aching joints. We had a bottle of wine with lunch, so my head will soon join the other parts.

An evening in beckons, with the whole series, apart from the final one, of Top of the Lake, which has been recorded.

I think...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.