Testing New Camera

I gave into my weakness for new gear and bought the Canon 5D mk iv. Admittedly at a good price. I wouldn't have paid the full RRP. I had no excuse to do this, other than that my 5d mk iii has frozen on  more than one occasion, which is not good when photographing a wedding.

I used the new camera for the Halloween workshop on Monday and was very pleased with the highish ISO shots that I took outside.

Today, I went to meet Hayley for a pre-wedding meeting at Quorn Country Hotel. The wedding will be on Saturday. It's very dark inside the hotel and I didn't have a flash gun. So this shot was taken at an ISO of 2500. And I've had to use Lightroom to bring out the colour and lightness of these silk flowers. Not as satisfactorily as I might have liked.

It was a very dark day. When we got outside to do shots with the couple, (always a good idea to do this before the actual day to get them into the feeling of posing together), I discovered that I really had to boost the ISO. Four pm in the afternoon and an ISO of 3200 does not feel good to me.

Still, we expect to be out in the garden much earlier on Saturday and with luck, the sun may shine although the forecast is for cold, dry weather. I shall wear a merino vest under my shirt and a quilted waistcoat while outside. I might even pop into the Vista shop in Loughborough tomorrow for some fingerless gloves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.