BOOM!

BOOM (see yesterday if that confuses you)

Five Years. Wow, where did that go. Time flies. In a blur.

< Zoomify >

I've not been a very good blip community person in the last wee while, but I am still loving being part of blip and the gentle passing of time and daily recording of events is a brilliant story memory bank.

Which brings me to what I want to do today - pick one picture for each of the five years I've been here and share that with you. Not necessarily the best shots, or the ones with most comments, but something that tells a story - which is (as I've come to realise) what my photography is all about. When I have time to do that, of course.

So, indulge me...

= = = = =

Year 1: Can this really be Scotland

It was almost unheard of in recent times - a fantastic snowfall in Scotland in March. Good weather and great snow conditions. They had even opened the Back Corrie at the Nevis Range, which had been closed for three years.

Up early and an adventure in getting there but we got to the mountain and the snow was ace. We went straight to the Back Corrie and after a few minutes of trepidation tipped ourselves through the cornice and over the edge.

Awesome. Even if I kept on falling over.

We arrived at the lift station grinning and out of puff. We got on the chairlift. And then it stopped. And we were left swinging in mid air for an hour and a half. At least the view was amazing.

= = = = =

Year 2: Exhibit A

I'd been enjoying my photography and blip but I'd not really ever shared any of my photography in a public exhibition. So when I saw that there was an art exhibition as part of the "Law in Scotland" conference I called up on the off chance I could get involved.

I did and it was great picking and planning my photos (and you can see some of the shots in the blip). It was also the first time complete strangers paid me money for my photos.

I've not done an exhibition again since, yet - but I would certainly like to. Maybe that should be my next project...

= = = = =

Year 3: Hello Baby 42

How could I pick anything else?

She's changed our lives and brings a smile to my face every day. She was born at home on a magical morning in March 2010 and the shot was taken just a few minutes after she was born.

I still can't believe the number of views/comments. Oh and she still sucks the very same thumb :-)

= = = = =

Year 4: The Old Greasepaint

I owe a lot to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe - I used to work in the Fringe Club as a student and it has been a great way of practising street photography.

There are loads of Fringe shots that I have taken, but this one is special because it was picked to be included in the Flickr blog post on the Fringe. It was so exciting being featured on Flickr as one of their picks!

Its also why I picked the Royal Mile in the middle of the Fringe madness for this shot.

= = = = =

Year 5: Singers

My mum came up to Scotland this year with her choir. It was lovely to see her on home turf ... and even though I didn't arrive until after the concert I know that Miss42 was a little star and kept on shouting out "Weell Dun Grandma" after each song.

Miss42 even did a bit of singing just like Grandma too - and even typing that conjures up the scene and a smile to my face.

= = = = =

I hope you enjoyed that and all that is blip as much as I do.

Thanks to all the blippers who view, drop-in, comment, make me laugh etc. you're all fab.

Thanks to Joe, G and all the team at blipcentral.

... and of course thanks to my girls too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.